Prince Edward Island to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

It’s easy to get lost in your own thoughts when you spend this much time alone. This leads to me occasionally forgetting why I’m on this trip. It became clear again at Cavendish Beach in PEI. The landscape was so breathtakingly foreign to anything else I’ve seen. Layers of deep orange coloured rock, massive eroding cliff sides of the same hue. The erosion was a reminder for me of the impermanence of nature, and life, and, everything. I was again reassured of how important this trip really is to me. A chance to experience things first hand, while they’re still here, and while I am too. I nearly had the beach to myself, but for a few figures in the distance, and two guys going at the sand with their metal detectors. I mentioned to one of them that I recently lost my diamond ring, in the off chance that they find one. It’s guaranteed he’s heard the joke a hundred times, but I just couldn’t help myself.

In Charlottetown, PEI, I randomly met a local by the name of Jud. He was sitting on a plastic bench, placed on plastic grass, amid a variety of plastic tree stumps. Together we tried to figure out the purpose of this fake landscape ironically placed on top of cleared, once living trees. With no logic in sight, aside from a Radiohead metaphor, the conversation digressed to the state of the local economy. PEI is a veritable ghost town this time of year, evident by the many boarded up shops and ‘closed’ signs I saw driving across the island. The summers are full of life and entertainment and the winters equally as depressing. Funny, my impression of this place would have been completely different, had I come in a different season, and/or never met some dude named Jud.

I did a quick drive by Malpeque Harbour, PEI, just to see where the oysters come from! A few fishermen gearing up their boats but it was mostly quiet.

A few days later I drove the ‘World Famous Cabot Trail’ in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. A handful of beautiful vistas, exactly what I expected, but not exactly beyond my expectations.

I’m teased everyday by roadside warning signs promising a moose sighting. A local Cape Bretoner bragged to me about how a friend of his counted twenty-two moose on the Cabot Trail one early morning drive and yet I still haven’t seen one. With the moose population at 150,000 on the island of Newfoundland, incidentally my next stop, the odds have just gone up – wish me luck!

Pictured below:

  1. Cavendish Beach Sandscape, PEI
  2. Cavendish Beach Rockscape, PEI
  3. Malpeque Harbour, PEI

Pictured above: Cabot Trail, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

IMG_1618

IMG_1632

IMG_1609

3 thoughts on “Prince Edward Island to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

Leave a Reply

