Alberta

The drive on the Icefields Parkway from Jasper to Lake Louise is all it’s cracked up to be. Glaciers cling to the sides of mountains. Their summer melt disappears into shallow streams of opalescent water that weave in and out of each other. I pulled off to the side of the road at a spot where the water had pooled and was calm enough to cast reflections of the mountain in the distance. I whispered ‘holy fuck’ under my breath while I took in the magnificence of the scene before me. Even after 185 pictures it was tough to walk away. Cars flew by and no one else stopped. I couldn’t understand why, until I arrived at Lake Louise further down the road. If you’ve seen the iconic photo of this lake, then you don’t need to see the real thing. Unless you’re in a mood to circle multiple parking lots for a spot then elbow your way through the hordes of people, lining up to get a photo.

Calgary is a great place to do laundry <end scene>.

The drive south of Calgary is glowing with fields of yellow Canola flowers. The second oil industry of Alberta? Ironically, the Petro Canada I stopped at along the way, ran out of gas.

I had lunch at Donna’s Diner because it was located in a building that holds livestock auctions. Don’t get your hopes up, like I did, they no longer hold animal auctions. Though I did have a great stir-fry and eggroll dish. The cute banter between Donna and her cattle rancher customers was something along the lines of them giving her shit for still having chicken on the menu. Donna is a fellow road tripper! Based on her stories, I’ve added a few more places to my bucket list, for another trip – Alaska, The Yukon, and Lake Superior where I found out you can see the aurora borealis, just hours from my home!

Almost at the USA border, I can see dark skies and lightning crashing over Montana… here I come, again 🙂

Leave a Reply

