Montana & Idaho

It was apple pie and ice cream for dinner when I arrived in Montana. Belly full and a fresh Moroccan mint tea in hand, I drove along the Going to the Sun Road through Glacier National Park. I am officially on beautiful mountain scenery overload.

I thought I had lucked out at the National Bison Range, a wildlife refuge. I had front row seats to a herd of twenty or so bison, all ages and sizes, crossing a river after their morning lap up, then passed trotting right in front of my car to graze in the opposite field. Little did I know I would see hundreds more at Yellowstone in the coming days. Is it just me, or is it weird that they sell bison jerky right outside of the refuge? I guess that’s one other way to preserve bison.

If Georgia is the peach state, then the cherry belongs to Montana, maybe the huckleberry too. Fruit stands along many roadsides called me to stop and pick up a bag of fresh cherries for my morning drive.

Idaho has the highest speed limit that I’ve encountered thus far – 80 mph / 130 kph. It helps to get through the looooong country roads, without a speeding ticket! Craters of the Moon National Park is a deceiving name for a big field of black lava rock. They have done a good job at preserving the folds of lava, it’s easy to imagine what the flowing magma would have looked like.

Next up, possibly the longest standing item on my bucket list…Yellowstone National Park!

One thought on “Montana & Idaho

Leave a Reply

